I Was an Extra in a Spielberg Movie!

Carson McKenna
8 min readMay 13, 2024

Okay, it was his son. But still!

Maybe four days ago, my friend/hairdresser, Simone, sent me a message on Instagram:

Hii!! Would u wanna be an extra in a movie??

Let me back up a few steps: Simone and I share a certain fondness for the entertainment industry. She lived in Los Angeles for years. Whenever I’m in her chair, I shamelessly ply her for stories of the golden era of Hollywood (at least in my world): the early 2000s, when Paris, Britney, and Lindsay, ran the streets.

Simone has done many of their hair extensions. She even has Andy Dick’s number in her phone. How’s that for 2000s royalty?

These days, she does hair and makeup for an indie production company. She sent me some details on the film: it’s set in NYC, in the months after 9/11. We would be filming the last scene, in which our story’s hero stumbles upon the New York Marathon. We, the crowd-goers, are all waving American flags and patriotic signs, to show our support for NYC.

It was to be filmed in Red Hook, an area of Brooklyn I’ve always had a mad crush on. Red Hook rests on the waterfront of the Gowanus Bay. Apparently, it’s the only place in NYC where we can get a full-frontal view of the Statue of Liberty. Her back is to the rest…

--

--

Carson McKenna

Top Writer in Love 😍 curious human, pro-bono anthropologist - Author of, "Broke Babe in a Basement" available on Amazon now! 🦀 ♈️